The organizers of the Swiss Public Health Conference

The Swiss Public Health Conference is organised each year by The Swiss Society for Public Health and the Swiss School of Public Health (SSPH+). Each year, a Swiss academic institution assumes the role of host and takes the scientific-thematic lead. 

Swiss Society for Public Health

The Swiss Society for Public Health was founded in 1972 by engaged public health experts. It is the independent national organisation representing the concerns of public health. Its Council consists of 32 experts, seven thematic specialist groups, individual and collective members as well as donors (totalling approx. 700). The Council builds a nation-wide interdisciplinary network for public health experts, who are given the opportunity for professional exchange. The Swiss Society for Public Health is committed to create optimal conditions and support decision-makers for the improvement of the Swiss population’s health. The Swiss Society for Public Health organizes several symposia on topical health issues each year.

Swiss School of Public Health (SSPH+)

Since its founding in 2005, the Swiss School of Public Health (SSPH+) assembles the inter-university faculty of public health sciences affiliated with ten Swiss universities (Basel, Bern, Geneva, Lausanne, Lucerne, Neuchâtel, Svizzera italiana, Zurich, SUPSI and ZHAW. The jointly supported Foundation is based on the vision that public health sciences are shaped by many disciplines. In a small country like Switzerland, no academic institution has the critical mass needed to cover all health-related issues. The SSPH+ "virtual inter-university public health faculty" strengthens health sciences with an innovative lean structure in a country where federal structures have led to rather weak public health systems. Training and education programs of more than 200 Faculty members empower health professionals to find appropriate answers to complex health issues. SSPH+ Faculty members supervise over 400 PhD students in public health sciences.


Swiss Public Health Conference 2019

Child and Adolescent Public Health

The Swiss Public Health Conference 2019 will be hosted by the ZHAW School of Health Professions in Winterthur.

The School of Health Professions at the Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW) is home to over 1,500 students and 250 members of staff, and as such it is one of the largest and most renowned centres for training and continuing education in the health professions in German-speaking countries. The School unites five different fields of study under one roof, namely Nursing, Midwifery, Health Sciences, Occupational Therapy and Physiotherapy. This close spatial proximity allows for an intensive interprofessional exchange in teaching and research among the disciplines that focus on practical and scientifically sound training in their Bachelor and Master degree programmes. However, it is this combination of experienced teaching staff and modern infrastructure that makes the School of Health Professions at ZHAW the perfect location for successful study, and on top offers students wide-ranging part-time continuing education programmes, additional professional prospects and career opportunities.

Research conducted at the research units of the five institutes at the School of Health Professions at ZHAW aims to share up-to-date knowledge and provide direct transfer of innovative developments into practice. Thanks to our excellent international network, interdisciplinary research projects can be implemented with partners at home and abroad. The School of Health Professions at ZHAW offers private and public institutions bespoke services ranging from education and consulting to development.


The organizing committee

  • Valérie Clerc  (SAMW / ASSM)
  • Monika Diebold (Obsan)

  • Julia Dratva (ZHAW & SGPG)

  • Daniel Frey (specialized group child and adolescent health)
  • Andreas Gerber-Grote (ZHAW), scientific chair

  • Nino Künzli (SSPH+)

  • Catherine Marik (BAG / OFSP)

  • Markus Melloh (ZHAW)
  • Julie Page (ZHAW)
  • Carlos Quinto (FMH)
  • Ulrich Wagner (BFS / DFS)

  • Corina Wirth (Public Health Schweiz / Santé publique Suisse)

  • Ursula Zybach (Public Health Schweiz / Santé publique Suisse)