Bild SPHC 20

welcoming words

Swiss Public Health Conference 2020 «From Evidence to Public Health Policy and Practice»2 + 3 September 2020

Demographic developments, new clinical pictures or unequal access to resources are key factors when we talk about the promotion of public health and the treatment of diseases and injuries. Our health system must constantly adapt to new challenges. In this context the following questions arise: how must the health system be developed, so that it is able to offer future generations good medical care and affordable services?  How can the well-being of individuals be improved? How can a shared understanding about the challenges in health care be established?

We need more knowledge and scientific evidence concerning how processes in health care can be designed, so that the health care system is able to adapt quickly to the continuous exchange between research, politics and actual practice.  Especially with regard to social change, we can already see how a fluid interface can help develop common solutions for the support of the elderly, guarantee comprehensive care for the chronically ill, or meet the rising costs of health care via better models for care.

With the goal of strengthening public health in Switzerland, the Swiss Public Health Conference 2020 concerns itself with issues regarding the transfer of knowledge between research, politics and practice. Experts from around the globe will discuss how evidence-based solutions can be systematically and optimally integrated into our health care system. In addition, with the examples of diverse national and international projects, we will point out which questions are still open, how the results of research can be implemented in practice and how gaps within the Swiss health care system can be tackled.

In line with a health care system that is still learning, the Swiss Public Health Conference 2020 brings together various players from politics, practice, and research and thus becomes the locus of an important interface itself. Together, we should be able to define a shared understanding of the current needs and future challenges of the Swiss health care system. Not only that, but we can also develop steps for the processes which accompany these demands.


Ursula Zybach, President Swiss Society for Public Health

Nino Künzli, Director Swiss School of Public Health und Deputy Director Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute

Gerold Stucki, Chairholder and Professor of Department of Health Sciences and Medicine, Universität Luzern



Welcoming remarks by State Councillor Guido Graf and Prof. Bruno Staffelbach, Rector of the University of Lucerne

Dear Swiss Public Health Conference 2020 attendees,

It is our pleasure to welcome you to the "Swiss Public Health Conference", even though this is unfortunately only possible virtually due to the current pandemic situation.

As every year, the conference is dedicated to a topic of great importance for public health. This year's theme, "From Evidence to Public Health Policy and Practice", which was defined by the organizing committee long before the outbreak of the Corona pandemic, could probably not have been more appropriate and topical for this year.

In recent months, the challenges posed by the pandemic have made us acutely aware of the importance of good and close cooperation between science, research, politics and civil society. This is exemplified by the search for a vaccine or drug treatment for the new coronavirus.

These pandemic-related challenges have also shown how important it is to support decision-makers in making science-based decisions. However, science today is no longer a closed domain practiced by individuals, individual institutes or faculties in isolation. Research projects today are usually only conceivable as national or even international collaborations. These projects take place in cooperation with other disciplines, faculties, research teams and universities as well as in collaboration with the business community and civil society. 

With the new coronavirus, the importance of "public health" has again become more apparent. The current health crisis shows us how vulnerable and yet strong our society is. And many of us have been reminded that high-quality, robust healthcare such as that provided here in Switzerland cannot be taken for granted.

The location of Lucerne's comparatively young university in Switzerland also contributes to the high quality of this health care, as it is firmly anchored in society and the economy in Central Switzerland. Great importance is attached to cooperation with other cantons, educational institutions and external partners. In 2018, for example, an agreement was implemented between the cantons of Lucerne and Zurich and between the University of Lucerne and the University of Zurich for the Joint Master of Medicine. With the establishment of the new Department of Health Sciences and Medicine last year, the University of Lucerne is increasingly responsible for the education and training of a new generation of physicians and health scientists. Given the growing and emerging needs in the Swiss health care system, this new generation should be equipped with a growing understanding of trans- and interdisciplinary cooperation in order to continue to support the bridging of research, practice and politics in the future - in the spirit of today's conference.

Even if the conference unfortunately cannot take place in Lucerne due to the circumstances, we hope to be able to share with you some of the interesting topics from the University of Lucerne and the Canton of Lucerne.

Now we wish you a good conference with exciting contributions. Stay healthy!

 

State Council Guido Graf

State Council of Canton Lucerne, Head of the Department of Health and Social Affairs of the Canton of Lucerne

 

Prof. Bruno Staffelbach

Rector of the University of Lucerne


Fotos

Bild SPHC 20

mot de bienvenue

Conférence Suisse de Santé Publique 2020 «From Evidence to Public Health Policy and Practice»2 + 3 septembre 2020


Les tendances démographiques, de nouveaux tableaux cliniques ou l’inégalité d’accès aux ressources sont des facteurs clés quand il s’agit d’améliorer la santé de la population et de traiter les maladies et les blessures. Notre système de santé doit constamment s’adapter aux nouveaux défis. Dans ce contexte, les questions suivantes se posent : comment le système de santé doit-il être conçu pour fournir de bons soins médicaux et des services abordables aux générations futures ? Comment le bien-être de chaque individu peut-il être amélioré ? Comment peut-on créer une compréhension commune des défis auxquels est confronté le système de santé ?

Il nous faut davantage de connaissances et de preuves scientifiques sur la façon de concevoir les processus afin d’être en mesure d’adapter le système de santé aux nouvelles circonstances sur la base d’un échange permanent entre la recherche, la politique et la pratique. Compte tenu des changements sociaux notamment, il sera ainsi possible de développer des approches communes pour soutenir les personnes âgées, de garantir des soins complets pour les malades chroniques ou de freiner la hausse des coûts de la santé par l’introduction de meilleurs modèles de soins.

Dans le but de renforcer la santé publique dans notre pays, la Conférence Suisse de Santé Publique 2020 traitera des questions relatives au transfert des connaissances entre recherche, politique et pratique. Des experts suisses et étrangers discuteront de la meilleure manière d’intégrer systématiquement dans le système de santé des solutions fondées sur des données probantes. En outre, la présentation de divers projets menés au niveau national ou international permettra de montrer quelles questions doivent encore être clarifiées, de quelle manière les résultats de la recherche peuvent être mis en pratique et par quelles mesures les lacunes du système de santé suisse peuvent être comblées.

En tant qu’interface nationale importante, la Conférence Suisse de Santé Publique 2020 réunit des acteurs de la politique, de la pratique et de la recherche dans l’intérêt d’un système de santé évolutif. L’objectif est de parvenir à une compréhension commune des besoins actuels et des défis futurs du système de santé suisse et de définir des processus appropriés.


Ursula Zybach, présidente de Santé publique Suisse

Nino Künzli, directeur de la Swiss School of Public Health (SSPH+) et directeur adjoint de l’Institut Tropical et de Santé Publique Suisse (Swiss TPH)

Gerold Stucki, titulaire de la chaire et professeur au Département des sciences de la santé et de médecine de l'Université de Lucerne



Discours de bienvenue du Conseiller d’Etat Guido Graf, Chef du Département de la santé et des affaires sociales du canton de Lucerne, et du Prof. Bruno Staffelbach, Recteur de l'Université de Lucerne

Madame, Monsieur

Nous avons le plaisir de vous accueillir à la Conférence Suisse de Santé Publique 2020, même si cela n'est malheureusement possible que virtuellement en raison de l'actualité.

Comme chaque année, la conférence est consacrée à un sujet de grande importance pour la santé publique. Le thème de cette année, «From Evidence to Public Health Policy and Practice» (Des données probantes aux politiques et pratiques de santé publique), qui a été défini par le comité d'organisation bien avant l'apparition de la pandémie de Corona, n'aurait probablement pas pu être choisi plus approprié et plus actuel pour cette année.

Ces derniers mois, les défis posés par la pandémie nous ont fait prendre conscience de l'importance d'une bonne et étroite coopération entre la science, la recherche, la politique et la société civile. La recherche d'un vaccin ou d'un traitement médicamenteux contre le nouveau coronavirus en est un exemple. Il a également été montré combien il est important de soutenir les responsables à prendre des décisions fondées sur la science. Cependant, la science n'est plus un domaine fermé, mené par des individus, des instituts ou des facultés. Aujourd'hui, les projets de recherche ne sont généralement concevables que dans le cadre d'une coopération nationale, voire internationale. Ils se déroulent en coopération avec d'autres disciplines, facultés, équipes de recherche et universités, ainsi qu'en collaboration avec le monde des affaires et la société civile. 

Avec le nouveau coronavirus, l'importance de la "santé publique" est également redevenue plus consciente. La crise sanitaire actuelle nous montre à quel point notre société est vulnérable et pourtant forte. Et beaucoup d'entre nous se sont vu rappeler que des soins de santé de qualité et solides comme ici en Suisse ne vont pas de soi.

Le site universitaire relativement jeune de Lucerne, contribue également à la qualité élevée de ces soins de santé, étant solidement ancré dans la société et l'économie de la Suisse centrale. Une grande importance est accordée à la coopération avec les autres cantons, les établissements d'enseignement et les partenaires extérieurs. En 2018, par exemple, un accord a été mis en œuvre entre les cantons de Lucerne et de Zurich et entre l'Université de Lucerne et l'Université de Zurich pour le Joint Master of Medicine. Avec la création du Département des sciences de la santé et de la médecine l'année dernière, l'Université de Lucerne est de plus en plus responsable de l'éducation et de la formation d'une nouvelle génération de médecins et de scientifiques de la santé. Conformément aux besoins croissants et émergents du système de santé suisse, cette nouvelle génération devrait être dotée d'une compréhension croissante de la collaboration  transdisciplinaire et interdisciplinaire afin de continuer à soutenir le rapprochement entre la recherche, la pratique et la politique à l'avenir - conformément à l'esprit de la conférence d'aujourd'hui.

Même si la conférence ne peut pas avoir lieu à Lucerne en raison des circonstances, nous espérons pouvoir partager avec vous certains des thèmes de l'Université de Lucerne et du Canton de Lucerne.

Nous vous souhaitons maintenant une bonne conférence avec des contributions passionnantes. Restez en bonne santé !


Fotos